top of page

Undercity Tales

I got the honor of doing this wonderful alternate cover for Mike Tener's Undercity Tales.

This was quite the...UNDERtaking... With that wonderful city drawn by the talented Steve Yak, in a beautiful art deco style, I wanted to get all those little details.

The depth he put into the city landscape took the longest. Not because of so many details but from those glow effects. To really help push that glowing enchanting city landscape.

I wanted to stay away from blue and orange so went with something I usually despise as a color combo, orange and green. Only thing I loath more than orange and green is purple and orange.

So, I figured if it was something I felt worked with my eyes as a palette, then it works and green and orange it became. Really helps to set that mood and tone of the story.

Again, here's is something I have been adding lately and love the look of it. So happy to be able to do it to this cover. Look for the dots, it's very subtle but adds so much to it.

There's another thing I do before adding the dotted shading, and it's something I learned from a photography technique. What it does is adjust the colors very slightly to give it this sense of motion, adding more movement to the colors.

A super close up shot of the hand shows exactly what I mean. The pixels shift just slightly and it also helps to blend the line-art.

Overall, I'm really happy how this turned out and thanks to Mike Tener for allowing me this opportunity. Check out his Kickstarter going on HERE https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/williamtener/undercity-tales-1-a-sci-fi-noir-crime-series and be sure to support creators!

29 views0 comments

תגובות


bottom of page